top of page

The 37th Gibbs Conference on Biothermodynamics

Access to full program with Abstracts 

October 14-17, 2023

Touch of Nature Outdoor Education Center,

Carbondale, IL 

GPS Address: 1206 Touch of Nature Road, Makanda, IL 62958


Tonya Zeczycki and Krishna Mallela

Keynote: Dan Herschlag

Ackers Lecturer: Karen Fleming 

Mission Statement

The Gibbs Society of Biological Thermodynamics is committed to advancing the development and application of thermodynamic principles to understand biological systems; fostering the professional growth of early-career trainees; promoting an equitable, accessible, and inclusive biothermodynamics community; and hosting an annual conference that includes significant opportunities for trainee oral presentations. 

Committees and Other Contributors to Conference Organization

Ackers Lecturer Selection Committee

Vince J. LiCata (Chair) 2021 –
and current members of the Gibbs Society Board of Directors


Fundraising Committee

Ernie Fuentes (Chair), Lisa Warner and Allyn Schoeffler


Local Arrangements Committee

Carlos Castañeda (Chair) and Emma Morrison

Trainee members: Emery Usher, Whitney Bond, Jasmine Cubuk, Taylor Devlin, Jerry Dinan


Poster Committee

Steve Whitten (Chair) and Sean Fanning


Presentation Logistics Committee

Kurt Piepenbrink (chair), Clarissa Durie and Stephen Fried
Trainee members:  Yingzi Xia, Xinzhe Ren, Yafan Yu, Alexandra Lucas, Pritam Chakraborty

Program Book Committee

Madeline Shea (Chair), Greg DeKoster and David Bain

Registration – JotForm and PayPal

Nicholas C. Fitzkee and Jim Horn


Saturday Night Thermo Co-Organizers

Ana Maria Soto and Vince J. LiCata
Trainee members:  Govinda Hancock, Kacey Mersch, Kristen Young


SharePoint Guru

James R. Horn


Speaker Nominating Committee

Krishna Mallela and Tonya Zeczycki


Webmasters for Gibbs Society -

Sarah E. Bondos and Chiwook Park (2020 – present)

bottom of page